xix Chronology of the Civil War Era 1860 November 6 Abraham Lincoln is elected as the 16th president of the United States. December 20 South Carolina secedes from the Union. December 26 Major Robert Anderson transfers his forces from Fort Moultrie into Fort Sumter in the Charleston harbor. 1861 January 6 Georgia state forces capture Fort Pulaski, near Savan- nah, Georgia. January 9 USS Star of the West is fired upon by Confederate forces in the Charleston battery, South Carolina, and fails to relieve Union forces garrisoned in Fort Sumter. January 9, 10, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, 11, 19, and 26 respectively, all secede from the Union.
Previous Page Next Page